Official ICC App

Your App for international cricket. The official ICC app provides coverage across all of the current international action including fixtures, results, videos, ICC news, rankings and more. Don’t miss a moment and keep up with the latest from around the world of cricket!

Alex Blackwell and Aaron Finch with ICC T20 World Cup trophies at the SGC
T20 World Cup

T20 cricket to come of age in 2020

T20 World Cup news

Australia will host two ICC T20 World Cups in the same year, with the Men’s and Women’s tournaments set to be played as standalone events within the same country in the same year for the first time.

The elevation to World Cup status further validates the format and the tournament, which in its short history has generated a long list of moments that will forever live in cricketing folklore.

The format has come a long way since the first T20 International between Australia and New Zealand in 2005, where the Black Caps took to the field sporting 80’s style floppy hats, sweatbands and aviator sunglasses.

Australia will host two ICC T20 World Cups in 2020
Australia will host two ICC T20 World Cups in 2020

Australian T20I captain Aaron Finch has played well over 200 games of T20 cricket in various leagues around the world and is staggered by the evolution of the game.

“The game has changed so much in the last few years, it’s pretty extraordinary how skilful the players have become,” Finch said.

“Especially the young players who are coming in and have grown up with T20 cricket. Us old blokes have got to make sure we stay up with them.”

"To be hosting a T20 World Cup is very exciting"

“Nowadays, teams are making over 200 consistently and even having it chased down … It won’t be long until someone makes a 200 in T20 cricket.”

"We saw how much Australia got behind the 50 over World Cup, so to be hosting a T20 World Cup is very exciting, especially given we have never got our hands on the trophy before."

In Australia, success has come more easily to the women’s team who have won the event four times, including the most recent edition in the Caribbean in 2018.

The women’s tournament will take place from February 21 to March 8 2020, while the men’s will take place at the start of the following cricket season from October 18 to November 15 2020.